Don’t judge me but…

parentsI was scrolling through Facebook last night and I came across this post from a new mom sharing her views on a very controversial topic. I sat there wondering if I should add my two scents to the conversation but, I decided not to ..why ?
Well I started to think back before I had my first child. I walked in Target and saw this woman breastfeeding her child in the Starbucks at the front of the store  ..with no cover ..and I remember posting I would never breastfeed like that …I would always cover up …
Guess what ..soon after having my daughter…I was that woman in target breastfeeding my daughter with no cover ..(actually neither of my kids liked being covered and thought it was funny to see how fast they could rip it off )
I also swore I would never raise my voice at my kids or spank them …guess what I do both .
I also use to look down on those parents who’s kids where falling out and their parents where just ignoring them  …and think to myself my kids would never do that …guess what, they do and ,I sometimes ignore their crying fits because sometimes i feel it’s best to just let them cry.

My point is not to judge that mom who posted her view on something that I didn’t agree with…but to say I think that at some point in being parent you soon realize you have no clue what you are doing. You have this plan in your head on how your kids are going to be and how you will react and, then when they actually get to the stage where your parenting skills have to come into play …you find yourself reacting in a way you did not plan…or at least I do.
So instead of saying I won’t do this or that to my kids, I pray every day that Jehovah gives me the guidance I need to be a good parent to my kids. That on the days I feel like I have no idea what I am doing…he somehow shows me ..I am doing just fine.
There is this New commercial on for some formula company…showing that in the end of the day ..no matter what our views are (cloth diapering is better than using disposal..breastfeeding is better than formula …stay at home moms are better than working ..etc).. we shouldn’t be tearing each other down or finding fault with those who do not feel the same as we do. We do however need to come together and build each other up because ,at the end of the day we are all trying to figure this parenting thing out.
So my question to you is :have you  ever found  yourself saying you would never do something as a parent and find yourself doing it now? Please feel free to share below.
Until next time
-Tonisha-

6 thoughts on “Don’t judge me but…

  1. Excellent post. I have been judged/heard other people being judged by people who either didn’t have kids, had kids that were younger than the child in question, or had a completely different life situation than the other person, and I personally feel that being judgmental is the worse offense by far… You never know what exactly goes on in other people’s lives and why they do what they do. There are a couple of quotes I love, “be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle”.. and “parenting is the easiest thing in the world to have an opinion about, but the hardest thing in the world to do” Amen!

    Like

  2. Thank you for writing this! Too many times other parents put other parents under the bus because of their parenting choices. I don’t think any one of us are perfect parents but we all do the best we can and do what we think is best.

    I was the one who said I would never spank or make my kids feel unloved or belittled and at times I find myself not handling a situation as best as I could and I lose my patience or temper. Parenting is a learning experience that never ends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

